+ Visit Cardiff FC for Latest News, Transfer Gossip, Fixtures and Match Results

Thread: One thing I don't get about opposing players and managers at Cardiff City Stadium.

One thing I don't get about opposing players and managers at Cardiff City Stadium.

Given that City kicked the game off yesterday, I presume that Lewis Dunk win the toss for Brighton and he did something which I'm always amazed doesn't happen more often. If I was a captain or manager of a side playing away from home, I'd always get the home team to play towards their noisiest fans in the first half if my team won the toss. I'd make Liverpool play towards the Kop. Man United play towards the Stretford End etc. - sides come to Cardiff, run out on to the Family Stand side of the ground and, almost always, decide to stay where they are if they win the toss, I just don't get it.

I know it didn't work out for Brighton yesterday, but it's so obvious that City prefer to play towards the Canton End in the second half and I'd always look to do something that my opponents don't want.

Re: One thing I don't get about opposing players and managers at Cardiff City Stadium.

Paul Trollope? Or do we just win the vast majority of coin tosses?

Re: One thing I don't get about opposing players and managers at Cardiff City Stadium.

Perhaps away teams are happy with the usual set up as they will be playing towards their fans 2nd half also.

Also, there’s the old adage “Keep the home fans quiet” at the start of the game, so the home team playing towards the noisy fans first half goes against this.

Its more likely city claim the left hand side of the tunnel and run out on that side, probably our dressing room is on the left (canton side) dont know for certain mind.

Ah right, you meant the toss

In the autumn/winter lunchtime kickoffs, the keeper in front of the Canton is hindered by the low sun. A big disadvantage, I'd say.

I can’t remember the last time we attacked the canton end first half.