+ Visit Cardiff FC for Latest News, Transfer Gossip, Fixtures and Match Results

Thread: Filip Benkovic

Filip Benkovic

Brendan Rodgers had his say:

https://www.walesonline.co.uk/sport/...dgers-19482868

Leicester City manager Brendan Rodgers has told Filip Benkovic he has to earn Neil Harris' trust and force his way into the Cardiff City team as the January transfer window looms.

The Foxes are currently enduring something of a defensive injury crisis, prompting talk of a possible recall for Benkovic over the coming weeks, something Rodgers did not rule out entirely.

“There’s been none as of yet (conversations on short-term plan for Benkovic)," said Rodgers.

"The whole idea was for him to play but I’m also a manager and if a player for whatever reason isn’t performing in games or training, and isn’t worthy of playing… I know the business we’re in.

"So he’s obviously not played as much as he would like but he’s got to get his head down and keep working and if he gets the opportunity to play over this busy period, hopefully he can win the trust of the manager and play more games."

“It’s not really what we’re thinking about at the minute (his long-term future at Leicester)," Rodgers added.

"He needs to play games and at the minute he’s not playing at Leicester and now he’s not playing at Cardiff.

"It’s something where we need to get Filip playing. He needs to get working again and show the level he can play at.

"Thankfully for myself, I’ve seen the level. When he was with me at Celtic he played against RB Leipzig and he was sensational. Really since that first 10 games at Celtic, he hasn’t maintained a level of fitness and performance that I know he can.

"Hopefully for him he get playing again and if it’s not going to be at Cardiff in the longer term, then we’ll look at it from there."

Re: Filip Benkovic

Fair comments. You'd think he must be getting a run out/start soon enough with the amount of games Nelson and Morrison have already played in.