+ Visit Cardiff FC for Latest News, Transfer Gossip, Fixtures and Match Results

Thread: Free Agent signings

Free Agent signings

Anyone know what the rules are on this ?

As I understand it( and I'm no expert) , we can sign a free agent at any time. It seems with the injury list right now that this might be a good idea.

Now, here's the question. If a co operative club were to terminate a players contract with immediate effect, much as we did with NML, would that mean that he'd become a free agent and that, urgo, we could sign him ?

There must be many players in the required positions who aren't getting into the team and who aren't going to get a new contract.
    That'd solve a problem - is there any rule to prevent it ?

Re: Free Agent signings

At levels below the first team, what you talk is almost encouraged - City have had a “trialist” playing for them at under 23 level in their last three matches and I wouldn’t mind betting he’s someone who has been told he was not going to be offered anew contract in the summer and so he’s free to find another team - my guess is that he’d be allowed to sigh for if we wanted him - I’m pretty sure that happened when we signed Semi Ajayi.
    The same sort of thing has happened with Greg Cunningham- he was originally at Preston on loan, but we allowed them to effectively take over his contract and I believe much the same has probably happened with Jonny Williams.

Quote Originally Posted by the other bob wilson View Post
    At levels below the first team, what you talk is almost encouraged - City have had a “trialist” playing for them at under 23 level in their last three matches and I wouldn’t mind betting he’s someone who has been told he was not going to be offered anew contract in the summer and so he’s free to find another team - my guess is that he’d be allowed to sigh for if we wanted him - I’m pretty sure that happened when we signed Semi Ajayi.